THE NATIONAL HARLON HILL AWARD COMMITTEE P.O. Box 2880

Florence, Alabama 35630 (256) 765-4595 Fax (256) 765-4659 Jeff Hodges • Chairman sportsinformation@una.edu



National Sponsors

THE CITY OF FLORENCE A LA B A M A









HOLD FOR RELEASE For A.M. Release Friday, November 12

TWENTY FOUR CANDIDATES VIE FOR HILL TROPHY AS NCAA DIVISION II FOOTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

FLORENCE - Ala. -- A total of 24 candidates are in the running for the 2010 Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year.

The list of candidates was announced Thursday by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee.

The list includes six players from each of Division II's four Super Regionals.

Players are nominated and voted on by the sports information directors at the 148 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions. The 24 initial candidates will be placed on regional ballots and the top two players from each of the four NCAA regions will advance to the national ballot when regional voting concludes on November 19.

The winner of the 2010 award, which is presented by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee, will be announced at the 25th annual Harlon Hill Trophy Presentation Banquet on Friday, December 17 at the Florence Conference Center at 6:30 p.m. This year's Hill Trophy Banquet will also include the 12th induction into the Division II Football Hall of Fame, with Ken Sparks, Mel Tjeerdsma and Bobby Wallace becoming the first coaches to be inducted.

Tickets are \$50 each or \$400 for a table of eight and can be purchased by calling the Shoals Chamber of Commerce at (256) 764-4661.

The NCAA Division II Championship Game is scheduled for December 18 at Florence's Braly Municipal Stadium at 10 a.m.

The Hill Trophy is sponsored by the **City of Florence, Ala.**, **Florence-Lauderdale Tourism**, **Opti-Net**, the **Marriott Shoals Hotel and Spa** and **Herff Jones**.

There were 31 candidates initially nominated by the sports information directors at their respective schools and those nominations were then reviewed by the Hill Regional Advisory Committees, which trimmed the list of candidates. Hill Add $2 \dots$

Among the 2010 candidates are three players who were also candidates a year ago. West Liberty University quarterback Zach Amedro was a national finalist in 2009 and Mars Hill College running back Jonas Randolph and Southwest Baptist University quarterback Steve Gachette were regional candidates last season.

The group of 24 candidates includes 15 quarterbacks, seven running backs, one receiver and one linebacker. There are 13 seniors, six juniors, three sophomores and two freshmen.

Among the players vying for the 2010 award from the Super Regional 1 are **Amedro**, a senior quarterback from West Liberty (W.V.) University, senior linebacker **Matthew Freed** of East Stroudsburg State (Pa.) University, sophomore quarterback **Kevin Morton** of Kutztown (Pa.) University, senior quarterback **Josh Portis** of California University, Pennsylvania, freshman running back **Franklyn Quiteh** of Bloomsburg (Pa.) University and senior tailback **Walter Sanders** of St. Augustine's College.

Candidates from Super Regional 2 are sophomore quarterback **Bo Cordell** of Tusculum (Tenn.) College, junior quarterback **Cody Haffly** of Wingate (N.C.) University. senior quarterback **Nick Hardesty** of Henderson State (Ark.) University, junior quarterback **Stanley Jennings** of Albany State (Ga.) University, junior running back **Jonas Randolph** of Mars Hill (N.C.) College and senior quarterback **Deon Williams** of the University of West Alabama.

Super Regional 3 is represented by junior quarterback **Clay Garcia** of Colorado School of Mines, senior wide receiver **Kyle Kaiser** of the University of Nebraska-Kearney, junior tailback **Jesse Lewis** of Colorado State University-Pueblo, senior running back **Phil Milbrath** of Michigan Tech University, junior running back **Josh Renel** of Wayne State (Mich.) University and senior quarterback **Troy Weatherhead** of Hillsdale (Mich.) College.

Selected from Super Regional 4 are freshman running back **Josh Birmingham** of the University of Central Oklahoma, senior quarterback **Blake Bolles** of Northwest Missouri State University, senior quarterback **Eric Czerniewski** of the University of Central Missouri, senior quarterback **Steve Gachette** of Southwest Baptist University, sophomore quarterback **Mitchell Gale** of Abilene Christian University and senior quarterback **Taylor Harris** of West Texas A&M University.

* * *

North Dakota State quarterback Jeff Bentrim won the initial Hill Trophy in 1986, followed by three-time winner - Texas A&I (now Texas A&M-Kingsville) running back Johnny Bailey - in 1987, 1988 and 1989.

Another North Dakota State quarterback, Chris Simdorn, claimed the 1990 award, followed by Pittsburg State receiver Ronnie West in 1991, Pittsburg State running back Ronald Moore in 1992, New Haven running back Roger Graham in 1993, Valdosta State quarterback Chris Hatcher in 1994.

North Alabama linebacker Ronald McKinnon became the first and so far only defensive player to win the award in 1995, followed by Truman State running back Jarrett Anderson in 1996, Bloomsburg University running back Irvin Sigler in 1997, Emporia State running back Brian Shay in 1998 and Northern Colorado quarterback Corte McGuffey in 1999.

The award had its second two-time winner when Valdosta State quarterback Dusty Bonner claimed the Hill Trophy in 2000 and 2001.

Grand Valley State quarterback Curt Anes won the Hill Trophy in 2002, followed by North Alabama quarterback Will Hall in 2003, Colorado School of Mines quarterback Chad Friehauf in 2004 and East Stroudsburg's Jimmy Terwilliger in 2005. The last four Hill Trophies have been won by running backs, beginning with Chadron State's Danny Woodhead in 2006 and 2007. Abilene Christian's Bernard Scott won in 2008 and Wayne State (Mich.) running back Joique Bell was the 2009 winner.

2010 Harlon Hill Trophy Candidates

SUPER REGIONAL 1 Zach Amedro Matthew Freed Kevin Morton Josh Portis Franklyn Quiteh Walter Sanders	Pos. QB OLB QB QB RB TB	Ht 6-0 6-1 6-4 5-10 5-11	Wt 200 215 190 205 197 215	CI SR SR SO SR FR SR	School West Liberty East Stroudsburg Kutztown California (PA) Bloomsburg Saint Augustine's	Hometown Moundsville, W.V. Souderton, Pa. Abington, Pa. Woodland Hills, Calif. Tobyhanna, Pa. Baltimore, Md.
SUPER REGIONAL 2 Bo Cordell Cody Haffly Nick Hardesty Stanley Jennings Jonas Randolph Deon Williams	Pos. QB QB QB QB RB QB	Ht 6-1 6-0 6-2 5-10 5-11	Wt 195 210 210 235 185 224	CI SO JR SR JR JR SR	School Tusculum Wingate Henderson State Albany State Mars Hill West Alabama	Hometown Cincinnati, Ohio Locust Grove, Ga. Salina, Kansas Marietta, Ga. Daleville, Ala. Tuscaloosa, Ala.
SUPER REGIONAL 3	Pos.	Ht	Wt	CI	School	Hometown
Clay Garcia	QB	6-0	200	JR	Colorado-Mines	Alamosa, Colo.
Kyle Kaiser	WR	6-0	175	SR	Nebraska-Kearney	Broomfield, Colo.
Jesse Lewis	TB	5-6	178	JR	Colorado-Pueblo	Loveland, Colo.
Phil Milbrath	RB	5-9	200	SR	Michigan Tech	Norway, Mich.
Josh Renel	RB	5-8	187	JR	Wayne State (Mich.)	Rochester Hills, Mich.
Troy Weatherhead	QB	6-3	223	SR	Hillsdale	Grand Rapids, Mich.